WMQ-EMSI Workshop

WMQ Prizes available to authors

Douglass Adair Memorial AwardWinners (1972–2011)

The Douglass Adair Memorial Prize is given biennially to the best article published in the William and Mary Quarterly during the preceding six years. Given jointly since 1972 by the Institute and the Claremont Graduate University, the prize honors the enduring achievements of Douglass Adair, an exceptional scholar and editor of the William and Mary Quarterly from 1947 to 1955. The award consists of $2,500, a medal, and a certificate. Since 1998 the Institute assumed responsibility for selecting recipients of this prize.

Lester J. Cappon AwardWinners (1965–2012)

The annual best-article award is named in memory of Lester J. Cappon. Lester Cappon edited the Quarterly from 1955 to 1956, and again in 1963. He was the Institute’s first editor of the book program (1945–1954) and served as Institute director from 1954 until 1969. The award carries a cash prize of $500 and is funded by the Institute. (From 1965 until 2005, the award was supported by the National Society, Daughters of Colonial Wars.)

Richard L. Morton AwardWinners (1986–2012)

The Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture’s Richard L. Morton Award recognizes a distinguished article by an author in graduate study at the time of submission. First established in 1986, the award honors Richard L. Morton, founding editor of the journal’s Third Series, respected teacher for forty years at the College of William and Mary, and an important colonial American historian. The annual prize is a selection of books from the Institute’s list.

Mary Maples Dunn PrizeMore information

The Mary Maples Dunn Prize will honor the best article in early American women’s history by an untenured scholar published in the William and Mary Quarterly that uses gender as a primary analytical category.

Other PrizesMore information

WMQ Articles that have won prizes given by other organizations.