AbouttheOI AbouttheOI

About the OI

The Board of Directors

Members of the Omohundro Institute’s Board of Directors determine matters of policy and have responsibility for the financial and general management and for resource development of the OI. The Board of Directors consists of seven members: five elected by the Board and two ex officio members (the chief academic officer of William & Mary and the chair of the OI Council).

  • Clifford B. Fleet III, Colonial Williamsburg
  • Sarah Barringer Gordon, University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Annette Gordon-Reed, Harvard Law School
  • Mary Kelley, University of Michigan (Chair)
  • Mary Beth Norton, Cornell University 
  • Paul S. Sperry, Sperry, Mitchell & Co.
  • Ann Marie Stock, William & Mary
  • Michael Witgen, Columbia University

The Council of the OI

Members of the Council are typically drawn from the academic community. Councilors advise the OI executive director and the Board of Directors on intellectual and scholarly issues and serve on one of the Council’s three standing committees: the William and Mary Quarterly Editorial Board, the Book Publications Committee, or the Conference Committee. OI Associates are annually invited to submit nominations for consideration by the Council. 

  • Zara Anishanslin, University of Delaware (2022-2025)
  • Kristen Block, University of Tennessee, Knoxville (2022-2025)
  • Kate Carté, Southern Methodist University (2023-2026)
  • Ananda Cohen-Aponte, Cornell University (2023-2026)
  • Will D. Fenton, Stanford University (2022-2024)
  • Steven Hackel, University of California, Riverside (2022-2025)
  • Stefanie Hunt-Kennedy, University of New Brunswick (2023-2026)
  • Rashauna Johnson, University of Chicago (2022-2025)
  • Frederick Knight, Morehouse College (2021–2024)
  • Jane Landers, Vanderbilt University (2023-2026)
  • Simon Middleton, William & Mary (2023–2024)  
  • Melanie Newton, University of Toronto (2022-2025)
  • Elodie Peyrol-Kleiber, University of Poitiers, France (2021–2024) 
  • Mark Simpson-Vos (ex officio), University of North Carolina Press (2022– )
  • Kelly Wisecup, Northwestern University(2021–2024)
  • Michael Witgen, Columbia University (2023-2026) (Chair)