PublicationsOverview PublicationsOverview

Publications Overview

Douglass Adair Memorial Award 

The Douglass Adair Memorial Award is given biennially to the best article published in the William and Mary Quarterly during the preceding six years. Given jointly since 1972 by the Omohundro Institute and the Claremont Graduate School, the prize honors the enduring achievements of Douglass Adair, a scholar and editor of the William and Mary Quarterly from 1947 to 1955.

Lester J. Cappon Award 

The annual best-article award is named in memory of Lester J. Cappon, who edited the Quarterly from 1955 to 1956, and again in 1963. He was the first editor of the Institute’s book program (1945–1954) and served as Institute director from 1954 until 1969.

WMQ New Voices Prize 

The WMQ New Voices Award (formerly the Richard L. Morton Award) recognizes a distinguished article by an author in graduate study at the time of final submission. Offered since 1986, the prize honors the founding editor of the William and Mary Quarterly’s third series. Richard Morton was a respected teacher for forty years at the College of William & Mary and a leading colonial historian of his time.

Mary Maples Dunn Prize

The Mary Maples Dunn Prize honors the best article in early American women’s history by an untenured scholar published in the William and Mary Quarterly that uses gender as a primary analytical category.