AbouttheOI AbouttheOI

The Council of the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture invites nominations for the class of 2023-2026. Please make your nominations by May 1, 2023. Councilors serve for a three-year term; normally we do not have more than one person from an institution on the Council.

The current Council is composed of the following individuals:


  • Zara Anishanslin, University of Delaware
  • Kristen Block, University of Tennessee
  • Steven W. Hackel, University of California Riverside
  • Rashauna Johnson, University of Chicago
  • Melanie J. Newton, University of Toronto


  • Will D. Fenton, Stanford University
  • Julia Gaffield, William & Mary
  • Frederick Knight, Morehouse College
  • Elodie Peyrol-Kleiber, University of Poitiers, France
  • Kelly Wisecup, Northwestern University

2019–2023 (terms extended due to the pandemic)

  • Nicole N. Aljoe, Northeastern University
  • Ignacio Gallup-Díaz, Bryn Mawr College
  • Sara E. Johnson, University of California, San Diego
  • Jen Manion, Amherst College
  • Jennifer L. Morgan, New York University (Chair)

The Omohundro Institute’s scope encompasses the history and cultures of North America from circa 1450 to 1820 and includes related developments in Africa, the British Isles, the Caribbean, Europe, and Latin America.

We welcome nominations of scholars working in early American history, literature, or related fields in both the United States and abroad. We aim for nominees from a wide range of institutions, regions, and specialties. Nominees are generally at the equivalent of associate or full professor in their career path, and we normally we do not have more than one person from an institution on the Council. The OIEAHC is committed to inclusive excellence. Nominations can be anonymous.