Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Culture

Leading Early American Scholarship Since 1943

Call for Council Nominations

The Council of the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture invites nominations to replace the outgoing class. Councilors serve for a three-year term; normally we do not have more than one person from an institution on the Council.

The current Council is composed of the following individuals:


  • Rosalind J. Beiler, University of Central Florida
  • Wim Klooster, Clark University
  • Simon P. Newman, University of Glasgow
  • Nicholas Popper, College of William and Mary
  • Billy G. Smith, Montana State University, Bozeman


  • Juliana Barr, Duke University
  • Sarah Barringer Gordon, University of Pennsylvania
  • Gregory E. O’Malley, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Randy J. Sparks, Tulane University
  • Lisa Wilson, Connecticut College


  • Sharon Block, University of California, Irvine
  • Alexander X. Byrd, Rice University
  • Cécile Fromont, University of Chicago
  • Patrick Griffin, University of Notre Dame
  • Alan S. Taylor, University of Virginia (Chair)

The Omohundro Institute’s scope encompasses the history and cultures of North America from circa 1450 to 1820 and includes related developments in Africa, the British Isles, the Caribbean, Europe, and Latin America.

We welcome nominations of scholars working in early American history, literature, or related fields in both the United States and abroad. Nominations may include a statement of the nominee's interest in and potential contribution to the Council of the Omohundro Institute.

These should be sent by April 15, 2017, to Professor Sparks at

Randy J. Sparks, Chair of Nominating Committee