Governing Boards

The OI Council, Board, and Staff at the May 2019 meeting.

The Board of Directors

Members of the Omohundro Institute’s Board of Directors determine matters of policy and have responsibility for the financial and general management and for resource development of the OI. The Board of Directors consists of seven members: five elected by the Board and two ex officio members (the chief academic officer of William & Mary and the chair of the OI Council).

  • Clifford B. Fleet III, Colonial Williamsburg
  • Sarah Barringer Gordon, University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Annette Gordon-Reed, Harvard Law School
  • Jennifer L. Morgan, New York University
  • Mary Beth Norton, Cornell University 
  • Barbara B. Oberg, Princeton University (Chair)
  • Paul S. Sperry, Sperry, Mitchell & Co.
  • Ann Marie Stock, William & Mary

The Council of the OI

Members of the Council are typically drawn from the academic community. Councilors advise the OI executive director and the Board of Directors on policy, programmatic, and professional matters of concern to the OI and serve on one of the Council’s three standing committees: the William and Mary Quarterly Editorial Board, the Book Publications Committee, or the Conference Committee. OI Associates are annually invited to submit nominations for consideration by the Council. Click here to read the formal request.

  • Nicole N. Aljoe, Northeastern University (2019–2023)
  • Christian Ayne Crouch, Bard College (2018–2022)
  • Kathleen DuVal, University of North Carolina (2018–2022)
  • Ignacio Gallup-Díaz, Bryn Mawr College (2019–2023)
  • Sara E. Johnson, University of California, San Diego (2019–2023)
  • Frederick Knight, Morehouse College (2021–2024)
  • Heather Kopelson, University of Alabama (2018–2022)
  • Ann Little, Colorado State University (2018–2022)
  • Jen Manion, Amherst College (2019–2023)
  • Jennifer L. Morgan, New York University (Chair) (2019–2023)
  • Alyssa Mt. Pleasant, ATW Research & Consulting (2018–2022)
  • Julia Gaffield, William & Mary (2022–2024)  
  • Elodie Peyrol-Kleiber, University of Poitiers, France (2021–2024) 
  • Mark Simpson-Vos (ex officio), University of North Carolina Press (2022– )
  • Kelly Wisecup, Northwestern University(2021–2024)