Douglass Adair Memorial Award — Winners (1972-2022)

The Douglass Adair Memorial Award is given biennially to the best article published in the William and Mary Quarterly during the preceding six years. Given jointly since 1972 by the Omohundro Institute and Claremont Graduate University, the prize honors the enduring achievements of Douglass Adair, a scholar and editor of the William and Mary Quarterly from 1947 to 1955. Recipients receive $2,500.

Lester J. Cappon Award — Winners (1965–2022)

The annual best-article award is named in memory of Lester J. Cappon, who edited the Quarterly from 1955 to 1956, and again in 1963. He was the first editor of the Institute’s book program (1945–1954) and served as Institute director from 1954 until 1969. Recipients receive $500.

The WMQ New Voices Prize — Winners (1986–2020)

The WMQ New Voices Prize recognizes a distinguished article by an author in graduate study at the time of final submission. Recipients receive $100 credit with our publishing partners the University of North Carolina Press towards the purchase of Omohundro Institute books.

Mary Maples Dunn Prize — More information

The Mary Maples Dunn Prize honors the best article in early American women’s history by an untenured scholar published in the William and Mary Quarterly that uses gender as a primary analytical category.