Call for Council Nominations

The Council of the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture invites nominations to replace the outgoing class. Councilors serve for a three-year term; normally we do not have more than one person from an institution on the Council.

The current Council is composed of the following individuals:


  • Marisa J. Fuentes, Rutgers University
  • Fabrîcio Prado, The College of William & Mary
  • Terri L. Snyder, California State University, Fullerton
  • Bertrand Van Ruymbeke, Université de Paris 8 and Institut Universitaire de France
  • Michael Witgen, University of Michigan


  • Christian Crouch, Bard College
  • Kathleen DuVal, University of North Carolina
  • Heather Kopelson, University of Alabama
  • Ann Little, Colorado State University
  • Alyssa Mt. Pleasant, University at Buffalo, State University of New York


  • Nicole Aljoe, Northeastern University
  • Ignacio Gallup-Díaz, Bryn Mawr College
  • Sara E. Johnson, University of California, San Diego
  • Jen Manion, Amherst College 
  • Jennifer L. Morgan, New York University

The Omohundro Institute’s scope encompasses the history and cultures of North America from circa 1450 to 1820 and includes related developments in Africa, the British Isles, the Caribbean, Europe, and Latin America.

We welcome nominations of scholars working in early American history, literature, or related fields in both the United States and abroad.